End of Semester

My Topic

My topic is sleep deprivation in teenagers. I spoke on what is sleep deprivation, what are the effects, and how to solve it.

My Essays

My first essay was a definition essay. I defined sleep deprivation and spoke on the overwhelming amount of teens who are sleep deprived. I also spoke on the reasons why teenagers were so sleep deprived. I decided to write about this topic because not many people are informed about the importance of sleep. What also inspired me to write on this topic is just last year I was a senior in high school who like most others, was extremely sleep deprived and completely oblivious to the dangers I was putting my self in. For my second essay I talked about the negative effects that come with sleep deprivation. My essay was a causal essay. I named the negative effects that lack of sleep can have on a teenager. Physical and mental health, along with academic performance were my three main points. I did a lot of research for this essay and used several statistics to get my point across. My third essay was a proposal. I proposed a solution to end sleep deprivation. My idea was to delay school starting times to later in the day. This essay I definitely had the most trouble on.

My Research Methods

Fortunately, the first website I clicked on gave me almost everything I needed to know about sleep deprivation. I relied heavily on research for my three essays. National Sleep Foundation was where I found most of my research. I found all oF my research before I started to write my essay. I felt as if I was informed and was educated on the subject it would be much easier for me to write. I felt that me doing research before writing allowed me to put my own personal spin on the essays. Some of my research was not data or studies, but it was high schoolers, teachers who all have faced/seen sleep deprivation first hand everyday speaking on the topic.

Sources

Sleep for Teenagers – National Sleep Foundation

Sleep Deprivation in Teens | Sleep Problems | Child Mind Institute

Young and sleep deprived – American Psychological Association

Final Details

Writing this essays definitely changed my life. I never realized that sleep affected me so much. My first semester here I was only getting 5 or 6 hours of sleep a night. After realizing how unhealthy that was, I make sure I get the necessary 8 hours a night. Sometimes I wish I had not researched this topic, as no matter what I have to get my 8 hours knowing what could happen if i don’t. I hope that one day everyone will be knowledgeable on the effects of sleep deprivation, and high schools around the country will compensate so teenagers can get the necessary 8 hours.

 

 

9 thoughts on “End of Semester

  1. schimbeno22 May 2, 2017 / 6:55 pm

    I feel this on a personal level. School work, work and other things made it hard for me to get much sleep this semester and I can honestly say that this is so true. It effects your mental capabilities so much.

    Like

  2. minettit4 May 3, 2017 / 5:11 pm

    Sleep deprivation is definitely an issue. This semester was very difficult to complete work for me and also sleep so I couldn’t agree with this topic any more. It becomes very difficult to complete day to day activities which is definitely not healthy.

    Like

  3. zanib ahmad May 3, 2017 / 6:47 pm

    i feel like this is such an important topic in the college community since we are all so stressed out. As freshman we are still getting used to the college experience and often skip out on meals and sleep which affects us greatly. This is very unhealthy for us and I agree with you.

    Like

  4. mikaelareilly May 3, 2017 / 7:30 pm

    With all the obligations and added pressure college students face, there is a high chance for someone to become sleep deprived at least once during a semester.

    Like

  5. MikeCichetti May 3, 2017 / 7:39 pm

    Sleep deprivation is definitely a problem and I can personally relate to this. College is the epitome of sleep deprivation.

    Like

  6. kbradshaw18 May 3, 2017 / 11:28 pm

    In high school, I feel as if getting enough sleep was impossible considering you had to wake up very early and come home in the late afternoon. In college, I would say that you can avoid the morning classes and just take afternoon and evening classes. Sleep deprivation is still a problem in college but I would say it has improved from high school standards.

    Like

  7. amandamal3 May 9, 2017 / 1:29 am

    I think this is a good topic to raise awareness on; some students struggle with insomnia, or other sleep disorders that lead to sleep deprivation, which may be hard for others to understand. Sleep deprivation can affect your mood and make you feel unhealthy altogether. I think it’s good how you included solutions to sleeping a healthy amount.

    Like

  8. kalea9 May 9, 2017 / 9:46 pm

    Oh wow. I can definitely relate to this topic. Teenagers have school, schoolwork, work, social/family life, and on top of that are expected to get a good amount of sleep! It is not fair.

    Like

  9. ElliotE33 May 10, 2017 / 9:07 am

    This topic was definitely a good choice. I feel like lots of college students don’t *truly* understand how harmful it is to not get enough sleep. Perhaps if more of us were aware of the physical health effects of a lack of sleep, we’d take better care of ourselves and see to it that we get our 7-9

    Like

Leave a Reply

