End of Semester Recap about Renewable Resources

Image result for renewable energy

The topic I chose to research was renewable resources. While researching this topic I learned about fossil fuels and the pros and cons of every form of obtaining energy.

My first essay was an evaluative essay on the main types of renewable and a brief description of each. Also in this essay I wrote about the dangers of fossil fuels and the effect that renewable have on the economy. My second essay was a proposal essay, and in this essay I explored how wind energy could make an impact on the United States in the future. In this essay I also explored the findings of the “Wind Vision report”; a study conducted by the U.S. department of energy. In my last essay (essay #3) I wrote another proposal essay on geothermal energy. In this essay I discussed what the future of geothermal energy will look like and the technological advances that will occur as geothermal energy expands.

When I chose my writing topic of renewable energy, I knew nothing about. I did extensive research on this topic until I had a through understanding of all the renewable resources. When writing these essays I found myself looking up facts and statistics to help develop my essays. I also learned a lot about fossil fuels and how bad they are for the planet. The U.S. department of energy has a great website that had a lot of the same information as the scholarly sources I used. This website had information that I needed and the information was direct and easy to comprehend.

https://energy.gov/eere/renewables

https://energy.gov/eere/wind/maps/wind-vision

Throughout this course (CCII) I learned a plethora of information about renewable resources, fossil fuels, and the pros and cons of each. Solar, natural, wind, geothermal, hydro and tidal energy are all topics I have discussed in my three essays. Each renewable resource is different and has a specific way of gathering energy. Each renewable method needs to be located strategically so that they are the most efficient. My research didn’t change my opinion or perspective in any way but I did enjoy learning more about my topic. In the future I would like to see more renewable resources installed in the U.S. and eventually be 100% renewable.

4 thoughts on “End of Semester Recap about Renewable Resources

  1. schimbeno22 May 2, 2017 / 6:34 pm

    Renewable energy is the way we need to go in. It is so much better for the environment and will be so much better for the world.

    Like

  2. minettit4 May 3, 2017 / 5:20 pm

    I love this topic because it is the first step towards saving our planet. People need to begin to look into new research in order to bring down our pollution levels. Renewable resources is definitely a step in the right direction and I would love to hear what people are coming up with these days.

    Like

  3. mikaelareilly May 3, 2017 / 7:23 pm

    Using renewable energy would definitely be a step in the right direction of preserving the earth. I like your idea that you wrote about in your proposal essay.

    Like

  4. Tom K May 3, 2017 / 7:52 pm

    Renewable resources can help to stop pollution and could hopefully the environment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

